Annick & Koen

Annick & Koen

Annick and Koen, meet the farmers of de Zuivelarij here.

In our dairy we think to a good relationship with our farmers is of the utmost importance. Here you will meet Annick and Koen, local farmers who work in a modern and ecological way. Annick and Koen supply the milk we use for our Berloumi. A halloumi style grilling cheese.

The Zuivelarij believes in the short chain and together with Koen and Annick we ensure a strong bond between farmers, products and consumers. But we do not believe in too small-scale production, a certain scale is important for economical and ecological reasons. This way we make our cheeses in the most ecological and food-safe way.

This interview with Annick and Koen was written by Marthe de Schutter and Lies François.

Job students summer 2020

How many animals do you have?

“We have about two hundred cows. Of these, about 100 give between 28 and 31 litres of milk every day. That amount depends a bit on the season, the weather and the feed.”

How many hours a day do you work on the farm?

“We start at 7 in the morning, and we stop at 9 p.m. In total, we work about 13 hours a day. This is from Monday to Sunday, year after year. We start the day by milking the cows and we end the day with milking the cows.”

What’s your favorite job on the farm?

Koen: “I’ve been doing this work since I was a kid and I’ve always loved doing it. It’s like I’ve made my hobby my profession.”

Annick: “I don’t really have a favorite task, there is a lot of variation in the work and that appeals to me. You live to the rhythm of the seasons and the animals, it’s a way of life.”

You live to the rhythm of the seasons and the animals. Farming is a way of life.

Farmer Koen milks the cows.
Farmer Annick feeds a calf.

What beautiful moments do you remember?

“It’s always nice when a calf is born. A calf with the mother cow is always nice to see. About 120 calves are born every year, it’s always nice to get new life on the farm and it hurts us when the calves end badly.”

We attach great importance to sustainability. How do you deal with that on the farm?

“We do our best to use energy from renewable sources. For example, we have solar panels, a heat exchanger and a solar water heater. We also try to use water sparingly, we reuse the cleaning water and collect rainwater. It is interesting to work ecologically, it is good for the environment and for our wallet. Because a farmer is by nature thinking economical. We also participate in studies to limit the use of antibiotics.”

We do our best to use energy from renewable sources.

What do you think of the products from the Zuivelarij?

Koen: “In the beginning, we had never heard about a grilling cheese like Berloumi. It was something completely unknown to us. It is something new, but we are pleasantly surprised with the possibilities and the results of the cheese. In the meantime, we eat it ourselves and recommend it to all our friends.”

Annick: “I have a lot of admiration for David for bringing something like this to the market. I couldn’t do it myself. On the website you find many recipes, this is always nice for some inspiration.”

How do you experience the cooperation with the Zuivelarij?

Koen: “It’s a very positive experience. I’ve known David since we were kids and and at school, which made things a easier. Our cooperation is going in a very easy way and at least we now know where our milk is going.”

Are you curious about more stories from our farmers? We have many more interviews, get to know our farmers on this page.

A calf from koen and Annick's farm.

Share this page if you want!

Annick & Koen

Annick & Koen

Annick et Koen, les agriculteurs de De Zuivelarij vous rencontrerez ici!

Dans De Zuivelarij, nous attachons une grande importance à une bonne relation avec nos agriculteurs. Vous y rencontrerez Annick et Koen, des agriculteurs locaux qui travaillent de manière écologique. Nous utilisons le lait, fourni par les agriculteurs Annick et Koen, pour nos produits uniques.

De Zuivelarij croit en la chaîne courte et, avec Koen et Annick, nous assurons un lien solide entre les agriculteurs, les produits et les consommateurs. Mais nous ne croyons pas à une production trop petite, une ferme d’une certaine échelle est important pour nous. De cette façon, nous créons notre laiterie de manière écologique et sûre pour l’alimentation.

Cette interview avec Annick et Koen a été écrite par Marthe de Schutter et Lies François.

Étudiants en emploi été 2020

Combien d’animaux avez-vous ?

“Nous avons environ deux cents vaches. Une centaine d’entre eux donnent entre 28 et 31 litres de lait par jour. Cette quantité dépend un peu de la saison, du temps et de l’alimentation.”

Combien d’heures par jour travaillez-vous à la ferme?

“Nous commençons à 7 heures du matin, et nous nous arrêtons à 21 h. Au total, nous travaillons environ 13 heures par jour. Et ceci du lundi au dimanche, année après année. Nous commençons et nous terminons la journée par la traite des vaches.”

Quel est votre travail préféré à la ferme?

Koen : “J’ai participé à ce travail dès mon plus jeune âge et je l’ai toujours apprécié. C’est comme si j’avais fait de mon hobby mon métier.”

Annick : “Je n’ai pas vraiment de tâche préférée, il y a beaucoup de variations dans la profession et cela me plaît. Vous vivez au rythme des saisons et des animaux, c’est un mode de vie.”

Vous vivez au rythme des saisons et des animaux. L’agriculture est un mode de vie.

Le fermier Koen traite les vaches.
L’agriculteur Annick nourrit un veau.

Quels sont les beaux moments dont vous vous souviendrez ?

“C’est toujours beau quand un veau naît. Un veau chez sa maman est toujours agréable à voir. Chaque année, environ 120 veaux naissent, c’est toujours agréable de retrouver une nouvelle vie à la ferme! Mais nous souffrons aussi si un animal est malade ou meurt”

De Zuivelarij attache une grande importance à la durabilité; comment allez-vous gérer cela ?

“Nous faisons de notre mieux pour utiliser l’énergie provenant de sources renouvelables. Par exemple, nous avons des panneaux solaires, un échangeur de chaleur et une chaudière solaire. Nous essayons également d’être économes en eau, nous réutilisons l’eau de nettoyage et nous récupérons l’eau de pluie. C’est intéressant de travailler écologiquement, c’est bon pour l’environnement et pour notre portefeuille. Parce qu’un agriculteur est naturellement plutôt économique. Nous participons également à des programmes à réduire l’utilisation des antibiotiques.

Nous faisons de notre mieux pour utiliser l’énergie provenant de sources renouvelables.

Que pensez-vous des produits de De Zuivelarij ?

Koen: “Au début, nous n’avions jamais entendu parler d’un fromage à griller comme Berloumi, c’était quelque chose de complètement inconnu pour nous. C’est quelque chose de nouveau, mais nous sommes agréablement surpris par les possibilités et les résultats du fromage. En attendant, nous le mangeons nous-mêmes et nous le recommandons à tous nos amis.”

Anncik: “J’ai beaucoup d’admiration pour David pour apporter quelque chose comme ça sur le marché. Je ne pouvais pas le faire moi-même. Sur le site web, vous trouverez de nombreuses recettes, ce qui est agréable pour s’inspirer.”

Comment vivez-vous la coopération avec De Zuivelarij ?

Koen : “C’est une expérience très positive. Je connais David depuis longtemps, nous étions en classe ensemble, ce qui a rendu tout cela un peu plus facile. Nous travaillons ensemble de manière très agréable et au moins nous savons où va notre lait”.

Êtes-vous curieux de connaître d’autres histoires de nos agriculteurs? Nous avons beaucoup d’autres interviews, faites connaissance avec nos agriculteurs sur cette page.

Un veau de la ferme de Koen et Annick.

Partagez cette page si vous voulez!